Saints and Stones: Saul Church
Home
Saints
Stones

Saul Church, also known as St. Patrick's Memorial Church, was built in 1932 to commemorate St. Patrick. It is a replica of an early church with a round tower and is built on the reputed spot of St. Patrick's first sermon and church in Ireland.

When St. Patrick came to Ireland in 432 A.D.. strong currents swept his boat through the Strangford Lough tidal narrows. He landed where the Slaney River flows into the lough. The local chieftain, Dichu, was quickly converted and gave him a barn (sabhal pronounced "saul" in Gaelic) for holding services. It is claimed that it was here that he plucked a shamrock from the fertile Saul soil and explained the Holy Trinity through its three leaves. St Patrick died in Saul on 17 March 461 A.D. and is buried in nearby Downpatrick.

Close by, on the crest of Slieve Patrick, is a huge statue of the saint. Bronze panels illustrate scenes from the life of Ireland's patron saint.

About Saul Church

Down Cathedral: Saul Church
Wikipedia: Saul, County Down
Northern Ireland Tourist Board: St. Patrick's Country (pdf)
New Advent Catholic Encyclopedia: St. Patrick
Wikipedia: Saint Patrick

Journey to Saul Church

The Saul Church is located two miles outside Downpatrick in County Down in Northern Ireland. From Downpatrick, follow the A25 to Strangford. Turn right onto Mearne Road. At the crossroads, turn right following the signpost for the church. Close by, on the crest of Slieve Patrick is a huge statue of the saint. Bronze panels illustrate scenes from the life of Ireland's patron saint.

Ordnance Survey Map (NW6120100506 approx.)

Visitors Information

Visitors information for Saul Church may be found at the Discover Northern Ireland: Saul Church website. General tourist information may be found at the Discover Northern Ireland: County Down Tourism website.

Additional Photos of Saul Church

Saul Church and Round Tower
Saul Church and Round Tower
Saul Round Tower
St. Patrick Stained-Glass Window, Saul Church

Top of Page